To view your messages, simply tap on the Messages tab in the bottom navigation bar.
Backstage's messaging interface is easy to understand, and functions similarly to how it does when using your web browser on your desktop/laptop.
Along the top you will see the different folders where your messages are stored. These are from left to right: Inbox, Sent, and Archived.
The inbox holds all of your current incoming messages. Any messages that have been sent to you, and any invites you've received will live here. They will be displayed in the order in which you received them, and when a new reply to an already existing thread comes in, that message will be bumped to the top of the list.
New Messages and replies are highlighted with bold text, and an orange circle badge, this way you can easily tell which messages have and have not been seen by you.
Once viewed, the highlight will be removed and the message will appear in plain text like all others.
The sent folder is set up in the same way as the inbox folder, and will be in order of when the message was sent, newest on top. No messages will appear highlighted in the sent folder, and these include both messages and replies sent to other users, as well as copies of the applications you have submitted.
The archived folder includes all of the messages you've decluttered from your inbox. Backstage does not allow users to delete messages, only archive. Rather than worry about accidentally deleting important messages, users can simply retrieve archived messages from their archived folder and move them back in the inbox if desired.
You can archive a message by swiping left on the message in your inbox and then tapping the red Archive button that displays. (Note: responding to a message in your archived folder will have it reappear in your Inbox)